What is a Vegetarian or Vegan?

 What is a Vegetarian or Vegan?

The Fat Carrot Ltd uses the terms "vegetarian" strictly as defined by the Vegetarian Society and "vegan" as defined by the Vegan Society

The following extracts from the Vegetarian Society and Vegan Society websites fully explain the terms.

 

The Vegetarian Society defines a vegetarian as: "Someone who lives on a diet of grains, pulses, nuts, seeds, vegetables and fruits with, or without, the use of dairy products and eggs. A vegetarian does not eat any meat, poultry, game, fish, shellfish or by-products of slaughter."

There are different types of vegetarian:

Lacto-ovo-vegetarians eat both dairy products and eggs; this is the most common type of vegetarian diet.

Lacto-vegetarians eat dairy products but avoid eggs.

Vegans do not eat dairy products, eggs, or any other products which are derived from animals.

Eggs: Many lacto-ovo vegetarians will only eat free-range eggs. This is because of welfare objections to the intensive farming of hens. Through its Vegetarian Society Approved trade mark, the Vegetarian Society only endorses products containing free-range eggs.

The Vegetarian Society points out that "some people may be vegetarian for religious reasons. Jains, for example, are either lacto-vegetarian or vegan, while some Hindus and Buddhists may choose to practice a vegetarian diet".

The Fat Carrot Ltd endorses all reasons for adopting a vegetarian or vegan diet. As explained in our ingredients and environment page, The Fat carrot Ltd only uses free range eggs, sourced locally whenever possible.

If a food item is marked as "vegan" then it does not contain animal products and has not come into contact with animal products while being made.